Living with Lists

It has been a long time now since I sat down and did a life planning list.

The need for this arises when I am less tired and I start looking around at all the things I want to improve or change. As a result I usually produce a well intentioned mega list and never complete anything on it.

I haven’t done this properly for about a year, although I did do lists throughout my treatment so my exercises got done and I turned up to appointments and lunch. Priorities see. I also kept up my shortlist on here, but not to the extent I really want to go now.

There was a time in life when I was laissez-faire and didn’t care for routine. I thought it was rather boring and that was fine until 2 children arrived part grown on my doorstep. Routine was a hard earned lesson which I didn’t get for about four years and only after my third child arrived in the form of my DD.

Ah well. now I love my planning and organising. Its only the execution that lets me down. I look at my long lists and immobilise myself because there is so much I want to do and I don’t have the time or energy.

Having said that I have been moved to start my old habit or trying to get to grips with my life. I want to write every tiny thing down that I want to do or needs doing.

I suppose it’s been triggered by a solid sleep last night as in an uninterrupted two and a half hours. I have energy all of a sudden and I am suddenly seeing what a state my house and garden is in. The housework is  suffering because I am back at work. The clutter and dust is mounting up.

Now when I say it is a mess I really mean it. I am not the sort of person who has everything in its place and a bit of dust drives me mad. Things have to be pretty serious to make me take notice.

While I was off work the house was relatively tidy and dust free. I had time then. When someone was coming I didn’t have to rush around cleaning, it was done. I had routine.

So here is what I am going to do. I am going to do the mega list for all the headings that are concerning me right now e.g. money, cleaning, getting some structural building work stuff done. I am going to prioritise these lists and take the top item on each one, making a small list, and put the rest away.

Ever since I have been off I have had a daily list so these things will be added along with taking of pills and what we are going to have for tea tonight. I will let you know how I get on. When a task has been then I will tackle the next item off the mega list.

I can do that.

This entry was posted in cleaning and clearing, lists, planning, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

