Current Themes – An update

Here is my monthly look at my life and how its going and what I need to do.

Health and Fitness: Things have improved dramatically since a month ago when I got puffed going up the stairs at work. I have spent several weekends gardening, I am going to work OK (and managing the stairs). Carb cutting isn’t quite going to plan but I am definitely eating less bread and spuds. Got a lot of work to do here and I will get there, just need a bit more recovery time.

Making Money: I have managed to stay within my spending budget and have been doing surveys and account tidy ups. I have managed to save just under £100 this month, some of that is from banking £2  and 50p coins saved up over the last few months. Not too shabby as I am still on half pay. hope this goes back up at the end of June.

Main areas on the money front are: pay off the mortgage before I am 55. Take a year out to travel and to have enough in the bank to retire at 55.

Prepping: Started work on phone numbers and reassessing my water and food store. I want a bag in the car and at the allotment with spare clothes, cash, a bit of food and spare medicines. I have spare meds at the allotment and at work, where I have spare uniform but could do with a spare set of clothes there too. The spare uniform got used twice in the last year (once for a photo to do with work the day after  my second op).

Decluttering and Minimising: I have done very well with decluttering this month especially as I was given about 50 books. I sorted through them and took out a few but the rest are in the boot of my car, going to work to be distributed around the hospital outpatient book shelves. Also gone are things for the allotment, a load of stuff to MiL’s church fair, the allotment open day and the charity shop. More clearance over the next month.

Personal Growth: The return to work has made me realise a few things about me and my abilities. There were some things I didn’t realise I did well before I was off and now know that actually I was good. In my job you juggle a lot of information from different sources and package them up so you can make sense. It is a skill I didn’t know I had. The other thing is that I work well under pressure, support a lot of people in small ways, roll with the punches and I am a fine juggler. For many years I have had no self belief. I have always felt like a mouse, frightened of making mistakes. I felt a fraud to be in such a good job, the best sort of job for me. I can’t say the lack of confidence has been totally squashed, but it has definitely faded. Go Me.

 

This entry was posted in decluttering and minimalism, Health and Fitness, Making Money, personal growth, Prepping, Update on current themes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

