Back to Work – an update

I have been back at work for a few weeks now and thought I would share with you how I was getting on.

Mainly things have been OK. I have nearly reached my usual 32 hour week and although tired at times have managed to stay awake and purposeful all the time I am there. I had a day where I couldn’t keep awake once I had got home and I ended up having lie in the next day, fortunately I was off.

I am a bit more bedded in and my brain seems to be working at the speed it did when I went off. In my job you have lots of information from various sources which you mentally sort and package. This folks is a major skill I didn’t know I had. My thinking since my return has been so slow I wondered how I managed before.

I have been having nearly whole days where I haven’t seen anyone new, so just normal conversations about normal stuff. Nice and easy. There were a few people who hadn’t seen me for a while and didn’t know why. I am telling them a short version of my story and then moving on.

My main issues are actually around sleep now. I am waking a lot in the night. maybe 10 to 15 times with aches and pains but also night sweats. I was having these before all the treatment but I have been properly tipped into menopause in a very short time so the symptoms may be worst than normal, whatever that is. The oncologist thinks things will settle down.

A secondary issue remains the muscle weakness and general poor fitness. I have had an overall improvement over the last month but it is slow.

I am having to relearn myself. I am not the same person that went off sick 9 months ago. I am not so different but what I could do before easily is now hard work. Energy levels are up and down, and I have had moments where I have felt worn out or tearful. I know that it is normal and after a rest usually passes. As usual I am frustrated by the slowness of healing yet at the same time recognise my progress

 

This entry was posted in back to work, cancer update, menopause, night sweats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

