Cancer update – busy but tired

This last week had been a roller coaster of visits and visiting. I have been out to eat several times, met people for coffee. It is the life I would like to lead (without getting fat) should I ever give up work.

So the wig trying went very well. it was a revelation as I looked better than I do with my own hair. I am having someone come a week on Tuesday to try more and then there is one more avenue to try before I make a final choice.

I took a friend with me who took pictures. My friends and family have become polarised on the best one of the three I have pictures for so far. I am happy with the blond one everyone likes but my DH and DD do not like it at all and want a brown one.

The wound remains sticky and won’t dry out. I have picked up my prescription for antibiotics to start tomorrow in time for surgery on Tuesday. My prescription exemption card has arrived so no more paying £8.40 for anything for the next 5 years.

Seroma is increasing and I now have the makings of a very small boob. Not quite a handful yet. I am getting some soreness where it is starting to stretch the skin and hope for a bit to be drained off during my op next week.

I have been into work to keep them updated.

I have been down the allotment but have been too tired to do more than 20 minutes work at a time. on Thursday I came home because I felt so bad and had a rest day on Friday. This is the way it has to be despite the frustration. Tiredness will be a theme: two aneasthetics, healing and then chemotherapy and radiotherapy. I am not expecting to feel OK until  a year after the end of treatment – talking July 2017.

It is a small price to pay to live and I will live with it happily eventually. I am usually so busy it is hard to be forced to sit and do virtually nothing

So this is the final update before the lymph node clearance on Tuesday. I admit to a bit of nervousness and worry about how my arm pit is going to feel seeing as it still feels very sore (like sunburn) at the moment.

This entry was posted in cancer update, planning, seroma, wound and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

